Office of the Governor

Michael L. Parson, Governor

Capitol Building, Room 216
P.O. Box 720
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

The chief executive officer of the state of Missouri must be at least 30 years old, a U.S. citizen for 15 years or longer and a resident of Missouri for at least 10 years before being elected governor.

The governor is elected to a four-year term during the same year as a presidential election and may seek re-election to a second four-year term. No person may hold the office for more than two terms.

The governor appoints the members of all boards and commissions, the heads of all departments in state government and all vacancies in public offices unless otherwise provided by law. The board members of Missouri’s state universities and colleges are appointed by the governor. The governor also selects the members of the Supreme and Appellate Courts of Missouri from names submitted by the State Judicial Commissions in addition to numerous other appointments.

The governor addresses the General Assembly on the state of government and recommends changes or other actions to be taken. A budget is submitted by the governor to the General Assembly within 30 days after the assembly convenes. The budget contains the governor’s estimates of available state revenues and an itemized plan for proposed expenditures.

All bills passed by both houses of the legislature, except those referred to a vote of the people, are submitted to the governor for his consideration. The governor may either approve a bill, making it law, or return it to the legislature with his objections.

The governor performs many other duties assigned by constitution, statute or custom. The governor also has the power to grant reprieves, commutations and pardons, but this does not include the power to parole.

In addition to his other duties, the governor is a member of a number of boards and commissions, such as the Board of Public Buildings and State Board of Fund Commissioners.

Moreover, the governor is commander-in-chief of the state’s militia, the Missouri National Guard.