News Feed: Department of Elementary & Secondary Education /news-rss?filter=elementary_and_secondary_education News Feed: Department of Elementary & Secondary Education Mon, 24 Sep 2018 11:30:35 +0000 en-us Missouri State Board of Education Opens Commissioner Search 18696 at Wed, 19 Sep 2018 07:59:35 +0000 The State Board of Education outlined the application and nomination process for selecting the next commissioner of the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education during its September board meeting. The board will accept applications and nominations today, Sept. 19, through 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Oct. 19, 2018. For official application and nomination materials, please visit the following website:     Bailey, Claycomb Named to State Board of Education 18511 at Thu, 30 Aug 2018 14:52:42 +0000 Missouri Governor Michael L. Parson on Thursday named Kim Bailey and Dr. Don Claycomb to the State Board of Education. They will begin service on the board immediately as the sixth and seventh members of the eight-person board.  Francis Howell English Language Arts Teacher Named 2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year 18491 at Tue, 28 Aug 2018 09:15:39 +0000 Shelly Parks realized early in her teaching career that the lessons students will remember from her classroom likely would have little to do with grammar, vocabulary or literature. So what does an English teacher do? Connect the classroom to the real world. Missouri Teacher of the Year Finalists Named for 2019 18446 at Fri, 17 Aug 2018 10:30:33 +0000 Seven Missouri educators have been selected as finalists for the 2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year award:  DESE Recognizes 2018 Pioneers in Education 18146 at Thu, 26 Jul 2018 08:18:56 +0000 Six educators will be honored as Pioneers in Education on Monday, July 30, for their commitment and contributions to public education in Missouri. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) will recognize the 2018 Pioneers during the 57th Annual Cooperative Conference for School Administrators at Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach. The ceremony will take place during a luncheon where more than 600 school district leaders are expected to be in attendance. The following individuals will be honored: Missouri Students Shine at 2018 National Technology Student Association Conference 18131 at Mon, 23 Jul 2018 10:22:08 +0000 Missouri was well represented at the recent 2018 National Technology Student Association (TSA) Conference in Atlanta, Ga. The Missouri TSA delegation of 122 students and 41 advisors from 28 middle and high schools participated in leadership development activities through the LEAP (Leadership. Education. Achievement. Personal Growth.) program and learned about community service while connecting with peers from neighboring states and across the country.  DESE Announces Closure of Two Charter Schools 18126 at Fri, 20 Jul 2018 13:52:34 +0000 The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education has announced the closure of two Missouri charter schools. Benjamin Banneker Charter Academy of Technology (Kansas City) and Preclarus Mastery Academy (St. Louis) each closed on June 30, 2018. Benjamin Banneker Charter Academy of Technology 6401 Rockhill Road Kansas City, MO 64131 Telephone: 816-926-9110 To request student records, parties should contact the school directly at the number listed above or via email: Missouri’s FCCLA Students Compile More Than 135 Medals at National Conference 18096 at Thu, 19 Jul 2018 13:03:26 +0000 Missouri students brought home a total of 74 gold, 57 silver and eight bronze medals from the National Leadership Conference for Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) in Atlanta, Ga. The students were among more than 7,500 student leaders, members and advisors who participated in the conference earlier this month at the Georgia World Congress Center. DESE Names 2018-19 Missouri Regional Teachers of the Year 18076 at Tue, 17 Jul 2018 08:21:19 +0000 The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) announced the 2018-19 Regional Teachers of the Year as part of the Missouri Teacher of the Year program. Committees comprised of peers and key stakeholders for each Regional Professional Development Center (RPDC) area selected the 32 teachers, who are each now eligible for the 2019 Missouri teacher of the year award. Agency for Teaching, Leading, and Learning Missouri Students Participate in Multiple Competitions at International HOSA Leadership Conference 18051 at Thu, 12 Jul 2018 09:59:03 +0000 Members of Missouri HOSA-Future Health Professionals participated in the organization’s annual International Leadership Conference in Dallas, Texas, from June 27-30. HOSA is a state and international organization for students interested in and preparing for health careers. More than 260 Missouri students from 42 Missouri HOSA chapters participated in 47 competitive and five recognition events, resulting in 23 top-10 finishes and 33 individuals and chapters being recognized for their service and leadership. Missouri High School Students Celebrate Top-10 Finishes at National Leadership Competition 18031 at Tue, 10 Jul 2018 08:21:35 +0000 Missouri members of Future Business Leaders of America brought home 42 top-10 finishes from the National Leadership Conference in Baltimore, Md. The students competed in events in the fields of business, finance, and information technology, including 3D animation, website design, banking and financial systems, and sales presentation. Each of the events mirrored education standards while challenging students to engage in creative problem solving in real-world scenarios. Fifteen of the students celebrated first-, second-, or third-place finishes: Missouri Students Win Big at National SkillsUSA Competition 18026 at Fri, 06 Jul 2018 10:05:39 +0000 Nearly 300 Missouri high school and college students joined more than 6,000 students from around the country in Louisville, Kentucky, June 25-30 for the SkillsUSA 54th annual National Leadership and Skills Conference, the world’s largest showcase of skilled trades. The students competed against the clock and each other, proving their expertise in fields such as electronics, computer-aided drafting, precision machining, medical assistance and culinary arts. Two Missouri Educators Recognized by White House 18011 at Wed, 27 Jun 2018 13:56:56 +0000 Missouri educators Christina Hwande and Tamara Stine were each awarded the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) by the White House and National Science Foundation earlier this week. They are among more than 140 individuals who received recognition this year. Charter School Renewals, Revised Literacy Requirements, MSIP Update Highlight June Board Presentations 17161 at Thu, 14 Jun 2018 12:17:21 +0000 Two new State Board of Education members, Carol Hallquist and Peter Herschend, were sworn in Thursday as the board held its first meeting in six months. Five previous meetings were cancelled due to a lack of a quorum.  The board approved multiple recommendations and received status updates from staff members of the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education on Thursday.  Missouri Welcomes Two Members to State Board of Education 17091 at Tue, 12 Jun 2018 09:42:34 +0000 Missouri Governor Mike Parson appointed two members to the State Board of Education on Tuesday, as Carol Hallquist and Peter Herschend were named the fourth and fifth members of the eight-person board.