A marriage license is issued by the Recorder of Deeds in each Missouri county and is valid only in Missouri. A man and woman applying for a marriage license do not need to be Missouri residents.

Both must appear in person before the recorder of deeds or a deputy recorder and present valid identification containing date of birth, along with a Social Security card, to apply for a marriage license.

Fees for a marriage license and copies may vary by county.

For more information on marriage licenses and to find what documentation is required, contact your county’s Recorder of Deeds at or view a list of county officials.

Marriage Laws (Revised Statutes of Missouri 451)

  • Applicants for a marriage license must be at least 18 years old.
  • Applicants who are younger than 18 must have consent from a custodial parent or guardian.
  • Applicants wishing to apply who are younger than 15 must obtain a circuit court order.
  • Applicants cannot be married already and may not be related by blood, through and including first cousins.
  • It is the public policy of this state to issue a marriage license only to a man and woman.
  • The license must be picked up prior to the marriage ceremony. The person performing the ceremony must have the license prior to the ceremony.
  • The person performing the marriage ceremony shall return the license to the issuing Recorder of Deeds within 15 days.
  • If a marriage ceremony does not occur, the license shall be void after thirty days from the date of issuance.


View Divorce Forms

Every party not represented by counsel who participates in a family law case shall use the forms approved by the Supreme Court. You are advised to check with your local court to determine if additional specific forms are necessary for representing yourself.

Marriage & Divorce Certificates

Certified copies of Missouri marriage and divorce records can be obtained at the Bureau of Vital Records in Jefferson City or locally.

Locally, marriage licenses can be obtained from the Recorder of Deeds Office in the county where the license was obtained. Divorce decrees can be obtained from the Circuit Clerk in the county where the divorce was granted.

How do I request a vital record?
Correct/Change Vital Records