Developmental Disabilities

A developmental disability is a disability which is attributable to intellectual disabilities, cerebral palsy, Down syndrome, autism, and epilepsy. Such conditions must have occurred before age 22 and be considered lifelong in duration. Service eligibility also requires the disability to have serious impact on multiple areas of functioning.

Intake staff at our Regional and Satellite offices review medical, school, psychological or other records to find documentation of those conditions and limitations. Often, Regional office staff will conduct an assessment if a recent evaluation of functional ability is not available. All of that information is used to determine if the individual meets the legal and regulatory requirements of the Division. If you are interested in discussing eligibility, please contact your local Regional Office.


Behavioral Health

Understanding Substance Use and Mental Illness

The Department of Mental Health works to improve public understanding and attitudes about mental illnesses and/or substance use. Services available are prevention, education, evaluation, intervention, treatment, and rehabilitation. DMH makes services available through state-operated facilities and also contracts with private organizations and individuals. The state-operated facilities include five adult psychiatric hospitals and one children’s psychiatric facility. Below are a series of links for more information.

Related Resources

Mental Health First Aid

General Resources

Substance Use and Mental Illness
Behavioral Health Resources
and Fact Sheets

Understanding Mental Illness

Programs & Initiatives

Children’s Services
Employment Services
Gambling Services
Prevention Services
Peer Support Services
Recovery Support Services
Veteran’s Services

Suicide Prevention Lifeline

Are you feeling desperate, alone or hopeless? Call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 988, a free, 24-hour hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis or emotional distress.