Valerie Huhn, Director

Department of Mental Health
1706 East Elm
P.O. Box 687
Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

The Missouri Department of Mental Health serves citizens by working to prevent, treat and habilitate individuals with mental disorders, developmental disabilities, and substance use disorders; and by improving the public understanding and attitudes about those with mental health conditions.

The department benefits from the counsel of a seven-member citizen commission, which hires the director and serves as policy advisors to the director. The members of the Mental Health Commission, who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, are selected for their experience and expertise in the various facets of mental health care.

The Department of Mental Health is comprised of three divisions that serve more than 170,000 Missourians annually: Division of Behavioral Health, Division of Developmental Disabilities and Division of Administrative Services. It operates 26 facilities/offices and contracts with more than 1,300 local agencies to provide community-based care.

Division of Behavioral Health

The Division of Behavioral Health (DBH) manages programs and services for people who need help for mental illness or substance use disorders. Services available are evaluation, intervention, treatment, rehabilitation, recovery support, family support, prevention, education, and mental health promotion.

Most prevention and treatment services are provided by community programs that have contracts with the Division. These programs must meet federal and state requirements in order to provide mental health and substance use disorder services. The cost of services is based on an individual’s ability to pay.

Division of Developmental Disabilities

The Division of Developmental Disabilities (DD) contracts for services and supports for people with disabilities and their fami­lies which include early childhood intervention, therapies, skills training, vocational training, and recreational and residential supports. These services meet lifetime needs of people with disabilities.

The Division of DD’s philosophy is to support persons with intellectual/developmental disabilities by empowering the individuals and their families, and work with them to identify their most important needs and find the most cost-effective way to meet those needs.

Division of Administrative Services

The Division of Administrative Services provides the following functions within the Department of Mental Health: accounting, purchasing and general services, budget and finance, reimbursements and directs Medicaid issues within the department.